Awards and prizes given at the conference

European Physical Society Plasma Physics Division Hannes Alfvén Prize

The Hannes Alfvén Prize of the European Physical Society for Outstanding Contributions to Plasma Physics, established in 2000, is awarded each year at the EPS Conference on Plasma Physics.

European Physical Society Plasma Physics Division PhD Research Award

The prize is awarded for a PhD work of exceptional quality in plasma physics in an EPS member state.

Ninth Itoh Project Prize in Plasma Turbulence

One lucky PhD student at this year′s European Physical Society (EPS) Conference on Plasma Physics will win an expenses paid visit to Japan. This is the ninth time that Professor Sanae-I Itoh, in agreement with the conference organizers, has offered the Itoh Project Prize in Plasma Turbulence to students presenting a poster at the conference. The winner gets the chance to visit Kyushu University, Japan, for one week, including flights and living expenses.

To be considered for this excellent prize you must be a PhD student presenting a poster at the EPS conference in Espoo. During the conference you will be allocated a time slot to be interviewed and the winner will be announced at the end of the conference and on the Plasma Physics and Controlled Fusion (PPCF) website. The administration of this award is being facilitated in part by PPCF, of which Professor Itoh is on the International Advisory Panel. To enter your poster in the running for the Itoh Project Prize 2013, simply send an e-mail to ppcfA famous by June 15th 2013 with ′Itoh Project Prize′ in the subject line. Please include your name, your poster number, the day and time you are presenting your poster, plus the abstract and you will be sent an appointment to meet with Professor Itoh, or one of the other judges, during the conference. All appointments will also be listed at the PPCF exhibition table at the conference.

EPS/PPCF poster prize

Call for entries for the EPS/PPCF poster prize

To enter please send your name, poster title and number, and the day that you are presenting your poster to ppcfA famous and we will enter you into the competition. €150 vouchers will be given to the best four posters presented. Deadline for submissions is June 27th 2013

Aalto University logo Association EURATOM-TEKES logo EPS logo